Tuesday, 2019-06-25, 6:25 AM
Welcome sabyashchi datta | RSS



New Page 3

                                  BANGLADESH PROFILE

Bangladesh emerged as an independent and sovereign country in 1971 following a ninemonth war of liberation. It is one of the largest deltas of the world with a total area of 147,570 sq. km. With a unique communal harmony, Bangladesh has a population of about 142 million, making it one of the densely populated countries of the world. The majority (about 88%) of the people are Muslim. Over 98% of the people speak in Bangla. English, however, is widely spoken. The country is covered with a network of rivers and canals forming a maze of interconnecting channels. Bangladesh has a glorious history and rich heritage. Once it was known as ‘Sonar Bangla’ or the Golden Bengal. The territory now constituting Bangladesh was under the Muslim rule for over five and a half centuries from 1201 to 1757 AD. Subsequently, it came under the British rule following the defeat of the sovereign ruler, Nawab Sirajuddaula, at the battle of Palassey on 23 June, 1757. The British ruled over the Indian sub-continent including this territory for nearly 190 years from 1757 to 1947. During that period, Bangladesh was a part of the British Indian provinces of Bengal and Assam. With the termination of British rule in August 1947, the sub-continent was partitioned into India and Pakistan. Bangladesh formed a part of Pakistan and was called ‘East Pakistan’. It remained so for about 24 years from August 14, 1947 to March 25, 1971. Bangladesh liberated on December 16, 1971 following the victory of the War of Liberation and appeared on the world map as an independent and sovereign country. The country is the pioneer in micro-credit concept for poverty reduction, which brought the Nobel Prize in Peace for the country in 2006. The founder of world reputed Grameen Bank Professor Dr. Muhammad Yunus is the Nobel laureate.

Official Name The People's Republic of Bangladesh

Capital City:Dhaka

Independence Day 26th March

State Religion Islam but other religions may be practised in peace and harmony.

Geographical location In South Asia between 20º24' and 26º38' Latitude and between 88º.01' & 92º.41' east longitude

Area 56,977 sq. miles or 1,47,570 sq. km.

Administrative Units Division-7, District-64, Upazilla/Thana-508

City Corporation: 6, Municipalities-308, Upazila-481, Thana-599, Union Parishad-4498

Territorial Water 12 Nautical Miles

Time: GMT+6 hour

Main Seasons Summer: (March-May), Rainy Season (June-September) and Winter (December-February)

Principal Rivers: Padma, Meghna, Jamuna, Brahmaputra, Teesta, Surma and Karnaphuli (Total 230 rivers including tributaries)

Principal Seasonal Crops and Fruits Paddy, Jute, Wheat, Tobacco, Pulses, Oil seeds, Spices, Vegetables, Jack-fruit, Banana, Mango, Coconut.

Best Tourist Season Octobar to March

Language National Language: Bengali-98% English is also widely spoken and understood.

Principal Industries Readymade garments, Textiles, Chemical fertilizers, Pharmaceuticals, Tea processing, Paper & newsprint, Cement, Light engineering, Sugar, Leather goods.

Principal Minerals Natural gas, Coal, Lime, White clay, Glass sand.

Principal Exports Readymade garments & knitwear, Frozen fish, Jute & jute goods, Pharmaceutical products, Tea, Leather products, Handicrafts, Chemicals.

Ports Sea ports: Chittagong and Mongla Inland river ports: Dhaka, Chandpur, Barisal, Khulna, Baghabari, Narayanganj, Bhairab Bazar, Ashuganj.

Airports International: Dhaka, Chittagong and Sylhet.

Domestic: Dhaka, Chittagong, Jessore, Sylhet, Cox's Bazar, Sayedpur, Rajshahi and Barisal.

Landports Benapole, Teknaf, Banglabandha, Sonamasjid, Hilli, Darshana, Birol, Burimari, Tamabil, Haluaghat, Akhaura, Bibirbazar & Bhomra.

Radio Stations: Dhaka, Chittagong, Khulna,Rajshahi, Rangpur, Sylhet, Rangamati, Comilla and Thakurgaon.

Broadcasting Programmes (languages): Bangla, English, Urdu, Hindi, Arabic and Nepali.

Television Stations: Dhaka, Chittagong.

Television Channels Terrestrial: BTV.

Satellite: BTV-World, Channel-i, NTV, ATN Bangla, RTV, Channel 1, Bangla Vision, Boishaki TV, Islamic TV, Desh TV, ETV & Diganto TV.

Source: Ministry of Information

Barisal Division

Barguna, Barisal, Bhola, Jhalokati, Patuakhali, and Pirojpur


Chittagong Division

Bandarban, Brahmanbaria, Chandpur, Chittagong, Comilla, Cox's Bazar, Feni, Khagrachhari, Lakshmipur, Noakhali, and Rangamati


Dhaka Division

Dhaka, Faridpur, Gazipur, Gopalganj, Jamalpur, Kishoreganj, Madaripur, Manikganj, Munshiganj, Mymensingh, Narayanganj, Narsingdi, Netrokona, Rajbari, Shariatpur, Sherpur, and Tangail


Khulna Division

Bagerhat, Chuadanga, Jessore, Jhenaidah, Khulna, Kushtia, Magura, Meherpur, Narail, and Satkhira


Rajshahi and Rangpur Division

Bogra, Dinajpur(rang. div), Gaibandha(rang. div), Joypurhat, Kurigram(rang. div), Lalmonirhat(rang. div), Naogaon, Natore, Nawabganj, Nilphamari(rang. div), Pabna, Panchagarh(rang. div), Rajshahi, Rangpur(rang. div), Sirajganj, and Thakurgaon(rang. div)


Sylhet Division

Habiganj, Maulvi Bazar, Sunamganj, and Sylhet